OpenStack Interop Working Group Lexicon

Licensing the OpenStack commercial-use marks requires passing tests of required capabilities, and including designated sections of code. There are multiple marks available for vendors depending on which capability groupings are passed.



Capabilities that have been suggested for the next Guideline.


The functionality ensured by a set of tests collected into a group as defined by the Interop Working Group.

Certify or Accredit

The Interop Working Group does not do any of these things for OpenStack clouds. These actions would fall under the governance of the Foundation trademark policy.


The universe of people and companies that are involved in the OpenStack project as active contributors, users, operators, vendors and enthusiasts. This is a very broad group with diverse interests, needs and participation levels. (see also Participant)


A collection of functionality generally used together (e.g.: object, compute).


Word to be avoided in this process due to confusion with other uses.


Word to be avoided in this process due to confusion with other uses.


The original name for the OpenStack board committee that managed commercial definition of OpenStack for trademark purposes. As the group evolved, it’s name was eventually changed to the Interop Working Group.


Capabilities that will be removed in the next Guideline.

Designated Sections

Portions of the OpenStack codebase that must be used to provide required capabilities in a product wishing to use the OpenStack trademark. Designated sections fulfill one or more of the following criteria: they provide the project-external REST API, or are shared and provide common functionality for all options, or implement logic that is critical for cross-platform operation. Designated sections must exist in the OpenStack gerrit namespace and have corresponding tests. Code that meets the following criteria will not be considered designated: provides vendor-specific functionality, are explicitly intended by the project maintainers to be replaceable, extend the project REST API in a new or different way, or code that is being deprecated.

Flagged Test

A test that does not provide consistent results in the field and it not required for vendor self-test.


Output of the Interop Working Group process detailing which Designated Sections and Capabilities are required. Guidelines will be approved on a regular cadence and identified by the date of approval.

Interop Working Group Process

The process used by the Interop Working Group to score Capabilities and select Criteria.

OpenStack Mark

Right granted by the OpenStack Foundation to use the name and logo of OpenStack in a vendor’s product.


The subset of the Community that actively engages in creating components of OpenStack including, but not limited to, the code, documentation, training, product management and other materials. For Interop Working Group purposes, Participant is not limited to the community members identified as “ATC” as per (see also Technical Leadership)


The collection of components required to use the least restricted mark.


Capabilities that are no longer required and are not included in the current Guideline.

Required - Capabilities that are required to be exposed to end users to

satisfy the requirements of an Interoperability Guideline.


Process by which a vendor runs tests against their product or service without 3rd party observation.

Technical Leadership

The subset of the Participants (see above) that are recognized by the community to guide the technical direction of the OpenStack project. These leaders include the Technical Committee (TC) and Project Technical Leads (PTL). See:


Program that exercises functionality of a component to validate expected behavior and provides pass or fail judgement.